Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonials of International Scholarship Recipients from Africa and the Middle East

Discover how international scholarships have changed the lives of recipients from Africa and the Middle East. Find out what they have to say about their experience in Canada and where they are now!

Mavis Matenge from Botswana
Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program Awardee (2008-2012)

University of Manitoba (Peace and Conflict Studies, PhD)

This program has positively transformed me as a student. It has also transformed me as an individual and reinforced my sense of purpose in peace work and education, and my belief that we all have a responsibility and a daily role to play in building safer, more just, progressive, and humane communities.

Read more

Dr. Emmanuel Egbogah from Nigeria
Former Special Advisor to the President of Nigeria on Petroleum Matters. Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program Awardee (1973-1975)

University of Alberta (Petroleum Engineering, M.Sc.)

I have benefited immensely from studying and researching in Canada, having attended McGill University in Montreal, Quebec and the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta under the Commonwealth Scholarship program. The quality of education in Canada is extremely high and produces well-rounded individuals for effective participation and contribution to national development of the graduate’s home country.

Read more

Mathabo Tsepa from Lesotho
Current High Commissioner to Canada. Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program Awardee (2004-2008)

University of British Columbia (Environmental Education and Food Security, PhD)

I have no doubt in my mind and heart that my community in Lesotho, my Government, my alma mater University of British Columbia (UBC), and the Government and the people of Canada who supported me financially through the Canadian Commonwealth Fellowship and Scholarship Program are all satisfied to see me make this huge leap in my career from being a university Environmental Education lecturer in Lesotho to being High Commissioner – all - in just one year and some months, after graduating from one of Canada’s academically top Universities – the UBC, a place of mind.

Read more

Sarah Kiden from Uganda
Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program Awardee (2011)

Saint Mary’s University (Computer Science, M.Sc.)

My experience in Canada is one that I would describe as the most memorable in my life and I can say this without hesitation. My student exchange to Saint Mary’s University in Halifax funded through the Government of Canada’s Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program CCSP was more than only education and was definitely an eye opener for me with several social and cultural experiences that I will forever cherish.

It is so hard to summarize my experiences because 2011 has been the biggest learning experience in both my academic and personal life. It is amazing how only four months turned my life around and enhanced my intellectual growth, academic and professional network.

Jones Akuaku from Ghana
Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship Program Awardee (2010)

Carleton University (Philosophy in Crop Science, M.A.)

Canada is a true multicultural nation. I was amazed at the diverse group of people I came across at Carleton University. Excluding the indigenous Canadians, several people were from Africa, the Caribbean, South America, Europe, Australia, the Middle East and Asia which made staying in Canada lively.

Should I have the opportunity, I would not miss Canada as a study destination for any other place in the world. Really and truly, this bilingual nation has a lot in store for everyone to explore and that is for sure.

Yaniv Rivlin from Israel
Sauvé Scholars Program Awardee (2009)

Sauvé Scholars Program Awardee (2009)

My experience as a Sauvé Scholar in Montreal was really defining for me. The Sauvé Scholarship is a residential fellowship, named after Jean Sauvé, the first Canadian woman governor general. The program brings thirteen young global leaders to Montreal for a year of intensive academic, professional and personal development.

Read more

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-04-01

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignages de récipiendaires de bourses internationales de l’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient

Découvrez comment les bourses internationales ont changé la vie des récipiendaires de l’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient et voyez ce qu’ils ont à dire de leur expérience au Canada et où ils sont rendus aujourd’hui!

Mavis Matenge, du Botswana - Boursière du Programme des bourses du Commonwealth du Canada (2008-2012)

Université du Manitoba (études sur la paix et les conflits, Ph. D.)

Ce programme m’a vraiment transformée en tant qu’étudiante. Il m’a aussi transformée en tant que personne et a renforcé mon sentiment d’utilité en ce qui concerne le travail pour la paix et l’éducation, ainsi que ma conviction que nous avons tous une responsabilité et un rôle à jouer quotidiennement pour bâtir des collectivités sûres, justes, progressistes et humaines.

En savoir plus

Emmanuel Egbogah, Ph. D., du Nigéria – ancien conseiller spécial du président du Nigéria sur les questions pétrolières. Boursier du Programme des bourses du Commonwealth du Canada (1973-1975)

Université de l’Alberta (génie pétrolier, M.Sc.)

J’ai immensément profité de mes études et de mes recherches au Canada. J’ai fréquenté l’Université McGill à Montréal (Québec) et l’Université de l’Alberta à Edmonton (Alberta) dans le cadre du Programme de bourses du Commonwealth. La qualité de l’éducation au Canada est très grande et forme des personnes équilibrées qui pourront contribuer efficacement au développement national du pays d’origine des diplômés.

En savoir plus

Mathabo Tsepa, du Lesotho – haute-commissaire actuelle au Canada. Boursière du Programme des bourses du Commonwealth du Canada (2004-2008)

Université de la Colombie-Britannique (Éducation environnementale et sécurité alimentaire, Ph. D.)

Il ne fait aucun doute dans mon esprit et dans mon cœur que ma collectivité au Lesotho, le gouvernement de mon pays, mon alma mater, l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC) et le gouvernement et le peuple du Canada qui m’ont soutenue financièrement par l’entremise du Programme de bourses et bourses de recherche du Commonwealth sont tous satisfaits de me voir faire ce bond immense au cours de ma carrière, soit de passer de chargée de cours en éducation environnementale au Lesotho à haute-commissaire en tout juste un an et quelques mois, après l’obtention de mon diplôme auprès de l’une des meilleures universités du Canada – l’UBC, un lieu de l’esprit.

En savoir plus

Sarah Kiden, de l’Ouganda - Boursière du Programme des bourses du Commonwealth du Canada (2011)

Université Saint Mary’s (sciences informatiques, M.Sc.)

Je décrirais mon expérience au Canada comme la plus mémorable de ma vie, et je le dis sans hésitation. L’échange d’étudiants qui m’a amenée à l’Université Saint Mary’s d’Halifax dans le cadre du Programme de bourses du Commonwealth du Canada était plus que de l’éducation. Il m’a assurément ouvert les yeux grâce à plusieurs expériences sociales et culturelles que je chérirai pour toujours.

Il est vraiment difficile de résumer mes expériences, parce que l’année 2011 a été ma plus grande expérience d’apprentissage, tant dans mes études que dans ma vie personnelle. Il est étonnant de voir comment ces quatre mois ont donné une nouvelle orientation à ma vie, favorisé ma croissance intellectuelle et élargi mon réseau universitaire et professionnel.

Jones Akuaku, du Ghana - Boursier du Programme des bourses du Commonwealth du Canada (2010-2012)

Carleton University (Philosophy in Crop Science, M.A.)

Le Canada est un véritable pays multiculturel. J’ai été étonné de la diversité du groupe de personnes que j’ai côtoyées à l’Université Carleton. Si l’on exclut les Canadiens natifs du pays, plusieurs personnes venaient d’Afrique, des Caraïbes, d’Amérique du Sud, d’Europe, d’Australie, du Moyen-Orient et d’Asie, ce qui a mis de la vie dans mon séjour au Canada.

Si j’en ai la possibilité, je choisirais le Canada en tant que destination d’études avant tout autre endroit du monde. Ce pays bilingue a sans aucun doute beaucoup à offrir à tout le monde. C’est certain.

Yaniv Rivlin, d’Israël - Lauréat du Programme des Boursiers Sauvé (2009)

Université McGill (sciences sociales, M.A.)

Mon expérience en tant que boursier Sauvé à Montréal a vraiment été marquante pour moi. La bourse Sauvé est une bourse de recherche en résidence nommée d’après Jeanne Sauvé, première femme gouverneure générale du Canada. Le programme regroupe 13 jeunes leaders mondiaux à Montréal pour une année intense de perfectionnement universitaire, professionnel et personnel.

En savoir plus

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-04-01