Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Scholarships

scholarships.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Testimonials

Testimonials of International Scholarship Recipients from the Americas

Discover how international scholarships have changed the lives of recipients from the Americas. Find out what they have to say about their experience in Canada and where they are now!

Phylicia Ricketts from Jamaica – Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program Awardee (2015)

McGill University (Applied Physics, PhD)

Phylicia Ricketts

I attended McGill University as a Graduate Research Trainee, under the Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program. The training provided me with hands-on experience in using new technologies and equipment. I gained insights and innovative perspectives on many different research topics in Environmental Health and Nutrition.

Read more

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto from Colombia – Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2014)

University of Regina (Water Resources, PhD)

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto

Under the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP), I conducted research at the University of Regina’s Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative (PARC) with professors that demonstrated incredible academic and human qualities.

Read more

Ailín Benítez Cortés from Chile – Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2015)

Bishop's University (Sociology, BA)

Ailín Benítez Cortés

I am not sure that there are enough words to truly describe how amazing my Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) experience at Bishop’s University was. But I will do my best and begin by saying that the university was a dream place to study and to live. The professors were incredible.

Read more

Rubí López Chávez from the Dominican Republic – Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2015)

University of New Brunswick (Financial Management and Audit, BBA)

Rubí López Chávez

I have always seen Canada as the ideal country to study because of its excellent education system, safe environment, stunning scenery and cultural diversity. Thanks to the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) scholarship, I had the great opportunity to study for the fall semester at the University of New Brunswick.

Read more

Danna Mendoza from the Dominican Republic – Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2011)

University of the Fraser Valley (Business Administration, BBA)

Danna Mendoza

I was awarded an Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) scholarship in 2011 and had the chance to study abroad for a semester at the University of the Fraser Valley in Canada. I am thankful for being given the opportunity to immerse myself in a new culture that was very inclusive.

Read more

Alma Quintero from Mexico - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2011)

Trent University (International Development Studies, BA)

Alma Quintero

Being part of the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program not only gave me the opportunity to study in Canada but also opened my eyes to new horizons and career possibilities. As a student in International Development Studies, I had the chance to learn from recognized faculty members as well as from my classmates, who came from many different countries. This made the classroom the perfect forum to discuss international issues from diverse perspectives and first-hand experiences.

Alma Quintero, Education Outreach Officer, Embassy of Canada in Mexico and Director, Public Affairs, Canada Alumni Network in Mexico (CANIM)

Read more

Trilce Gervaz from Uruguay - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2012)

Université Laval (Business Administration, BBA)

Trilce Gervaz

Canada is a land of opportunities. It was so for me as a student when I was a part of the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) and attended Université Laval in Québec City. ELAP provides the opportunity to participate in a high-level academic environment, to experience the quality of life this great country has to offer, to witness the kindness and openness of the Canadian people. Université Laval offers the possibility to study in both English and French. Coming to Canada allowed me to perfect my English but most importantly to learn French through cultural immersion. This scholarship transformed me as a student in 2012, and forged my current career as a diplomat when posted to Canada in 2015.

Trilce Gervaz, Second Secretary and Chargée d’Affaires a.i., Embassy of the Eastern Republic of Uruguay in Canada

Sheryl Hamilton from Jamaica - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2010)

George Brown College (Social Sciences, college diploma)

Sheryl Hamilton

My Emerging Leaders of the America’s scholarship has been the most amazing experience. My study exchange in Canada has made me view cultural diversity on a wider prospective. In Jamaica, our motto is “Out of Many, One People” and I have never seen so many different cultures in one place. Imagine being in a class with twenty five students and twenty three different cultures. I was just fascinated by the openness of the cultural diversity in Canada.

Damian Francis from Jamaica - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

University of Ottawa (Epidemiology and Nutrition, PhD)

Damian Francis

My ELAP scholarship opened the door for me to study in a world-class academic environment in Canada. It was a unique opportunity that significantly enriched my own learning experience and helped me to develop policies on how to bridge the gap between the lab, field, and society.

Abigail Henry from Jamaica - Canada – CARICOM Leadership Scholarship Awardee (2009)

York University (Media and Communications, BA)

Abigail Henry

I learned as I’d never learned before. From the stories of books in the immense libraries, the intimidating skyscrapers towering above me, to the faces of a hundred nations in the people of the city, Toronto proved to be a place that thrilled and amazed me. I learnt boldness, humility and independence that year and the Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarship made it all possible. To anyone considering an exchange in Canada, my advice is don’t hesitate.

Radica Tricia Rambharose from Trinidad and Tobago - Canada – CARICOM Leadership Scholarship Awardee (2010)

Athabasca University (Philosophy, M.A.)

Radica Tricia Rambharose

My experience in the Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program was truly an unforgettable one. Many factors contributed to this amazing experience but especially the balance between quality academics and a rich intercultural student life. Collaborating in research with colleagues from other countries helped fortify my research contribution on an international level and enhanced my motivation to pursue future similar opportunities.

Ashanti Garcia from Belize - Canada – CARICOM Leadership Scholarship Awardee Awardee (2009)

University of Western Ontario (Anthropology, BA)

Ashanti Garcia

There is no better way to expand your academic horizons and further develop yourself than through a study abroad experience.   Everything I have gained from studying in Canada at The University of Western Ontario (UWO) will prove to be an asset in a globalizing world. This student exchange program forever changed the way I see myself and the world at large.

Dania Yudith Suarez Abreu from Cuba - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

University of Manitoba (Social Sciences, M.A.)

Dania Yudith Suarez Abreu

My Emerging Leaders in the Americas (ELAP) scholarship opened doors for me to conduct research in an up-to-date and friendly environment, with access to modern facilities and technologies. It was an amazing experience that enhanced my academic and professional network. All the teachers and institutions around me were incredibly supportive from the very beginning. I lived the way Canadians do every day; I enjoyed every season, especially the winter: skiing, skating and drinking coffee. It enriched my curriculum and opened a new world of opportunities for me. Canada was my safe and lovely home for 5 months: it provided me with new friends, food, sports, customs and knowledge. I became a better person and professional, and I achieved my goals thanks to it. A piece of my heart stayed there forever.

Juan Carlos Mendez from Costa Rica - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

Dalhousie University (International Development Studies, M.A.)

Juan Carlos Mendez

This scholarship program represents a great opportunity for any student and scholar from Latin America interested in learning more about Canadian culture and values, and for those willing to experience a high-level academic environment, in which the only thing that matters is your personal and professional skills and capabilities, thus not your nationality, political or religious view or color of your skin.

Carolina I. Miño from Argentina - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus (Genetics, PhD)

Carolina I. Miño

My experience in Canada, through the Emerging Leaders in the Americas (ELAP) scholarship, allowed me to visit a prestigious university and work together with renowned researchers and colleagues. During my stay at the University of British Columbia – Okanagan campus, I was at all times kindly treated and supported by friendly people whom helped me to make my way through the university life.

Read more

Daniel Marcelino from Brazil - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

York University (Political Science, M.A.)

Daniel Marcelino

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) was a fantastic opportunity to visit Canada and get in touch with students worldwide. Studying at one of Canada’s major universities, I found an environment of interdisciplinary cooperation and openness to sharing ideas. The quality of education, research support and access to a very well supported network of libraries made my experience in the country unforgettable. Moreover, the vibrant artistic and cultural expression that I found in Canada occupied the rest of my time, keeping the nostalgia from Brazil far far away.

Rogelio Pena Gallo from Mexico - Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009)

McGill University (Mechanical Engineering, M.Sc.)

Rogelio Pena Gallo

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program was a fantastic experience that allowed me to get involved with the Canadian way of teaching, working and especially researching. It was a tremendous way to boost my learning experience. I had the chance to meet and work with world class researchers, an invaluable experience that allowed me to enhance my network as well as opened doors for continuing my education and further cooperation between my home and host universities.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-11-08

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Bourses internationales

bourses.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Témoignages

Témoignages de récipiendaires de bourses internationales des Amériques

Découvrez comment les bourses internationales ont changé la vie des récipiendaires des Amériques et voyez ce qu’ils ont à dire de leur expérience au Canada et où ils sont rendus aujourd’hui!

Phylicia Ricketts, de la Jamaïque – Boursière du Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM  (2015)

Université McGill (physique appliquée, Ph. D.)

Phylicia Ricketts

Je suis allée à l’Université McGill comme stagiaire de recherche aux cycles supérieurs, dans le cadre du Programme de bourses (leadership) Canada-CARICOM. Cette formation m’a donné de l’expérience pratique de l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies et d’équipement. J’ai pu mieux comprendre et voir d’une toute nouvelle façon différents sujets de recherche en santé environnementale et nutrition.

En savoir plus

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto, de la Colombie – Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2014)

University of Regina (ressources en eau, Ph. D.)

Juan Mauricio Bedoya Soto

Grâce au Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA), j’ai pu faire des recherches au Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative (PARC) de la University of Regina avec des professeurs qui ont fait preuve de qualités académiques et humaines des plus remarquables.

En savoir plus

Ailín Benítez Cortés, du Chili – Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2015)

Université Bishop's (sociologie, B.A.)

Ailín Benítez Cortés

Je ne sais pas s’il y a assez de mots pour décrire à quel point mon expérience du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) à l’Université Bishop’s a été extraordinaire, mais je ferai de mon mieux. Je commencerai par dire que l’université était un endroit de rêve où vivre et faire des études. Les professeurs étaient incroyables.

En savoir plus

Rubí López Chávez, de la République dominicaine – Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2015)

University of New Brunswick (gestion financière et audit, B.A.A.)

Rubí López Chávez

J'ai toujours vu le Canada comme le pays idéal pour étudier en raison de son excellent système d'éducation, son environnement sûr, ses magnifiques paysages et sa diversité culturelle. Grâce à la bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA), j'ai eu l’opportunité d’étudier pendant le semestre d’automne à la University of New Brunswick.

En savoir plus

Danna Mendoza, de la République dominicaine – Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2011)

University of the Fraser Valley (administration des affaires, B.A.A.)

Danna Mendoza

J’ai obtenu une bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) en 2011 et j’ai eu la chance d’étudier à l’étranger pour un semestre à la University of the Fraser Valley au Canada. Je suis reconnaissante d’avoir eu la possibilité de m’immerger dans une nouvelle culture qui était très inclusive.

En savoir plus

Alma Quintero, du Mexique - Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2011)

Université Trent (développement international, B.A.)

Alma Quintero

Faire partie du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques m’a donné l’opportunité de faire des études au Canada, mais cela m’a aussi ouvert les yeux à d’autres horizons et possibilités de carrière. Étudiante en développement international, j’ai eu la chance d’apprendre de professeurs connus ainsi que de mes camarades de classe, qui venaient de nombreux différents pays. Cela a fait de la salle de classe l’endroit idéal où discuter des enjeux internationaux de plusieurs points de vue et avec des expériences directes.

Alma Quintero, Agente d’éducation, Diffusion externe, Ambassade du Canada au Mexique et Directrice, Affaires publiques, Canada Alumni Network in Mexico (CANIM)

En savoir plus

Trilce Gervaz, de l’Uruguay - Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2012)

Université Laval (administration des affaires, B.A.A.)

Trilce Gervaz

Le Canada est une terre d’opportunités. C’était vraiment le cas pour moi quand j’ai participé au Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) à l’Université Laval à Québec. Le PFLA donne l’occasion d’évoluer dans un milieu académique de haut niveau, de faire l’expérience de la qualité de vie que ce grand pays a à offrir, d’être témoin de la gentillesse et de l’ouverture des Canadiens. L’Université Laval donne la possibilité de faire des études en anglais et en français. Le fait d’aller au Canada m’a permis d’améliorer mon anglais, mais surtout, d’apprendre le français en immersion culturelle. Cette bourse m’a transformée comme étudiante en 2012 et a forgé ma carrière actuelle de diplomate quand j’ai été affectée au Canada en 2015.

Trilce Gervaz, Deuxième secrétaire et Chargée d'affaires a.i., Ambassade de la République orientale de l'Uruguay au Canada

Sheryl Hamilton, de la Jamaïque - Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2010)

Collège George Brown (sciences sociales, diplôme d’études collégiales)

Sheryl Hamilton

Ma bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques a été une expérience extraordinaire. L’échange d’étudiants auquel j’ai participé au Canada m’a fait adopter une perspective plus large sur la diversité culturelle. En Jamaïque, notre devise est « Tous différents, tous unis » et je n’ai jamais vu autant de cultures différentes en un seul endroit. Imaginez être en classe avec 25 étudiants de 23 cultures différentes. J’ai été fascinée par l’ouverture à la diversité culturelle au Canada.

Damian Francis, de la Jamaïque - Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2009)

Université d’Ottawa (épidémiologie et nutrition, Ph. D.)

Damian Francis

Ma bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques m’a permis d’étudier dans un environnement universitaire de calibre mondial au Canada. C’était une occasion unique qui a grandement enrichi ma propre expérience d’apprentissage et qui m’a aidé à établir des politiques sur la manière de faire le pont entre le laboratoire, le terrain et la société.

Abigaïl Henry, de la Jamaïque - Boursière du Programme de bourses de leadership Canada-CARICOM (2009)

Université York (médias et communications, B.A.)

Abigaïl Henry

J’ai appris comme je n’avais jamais appris auparavant. Les étages complets de livres dans les immenses bibliothèques, les imposants gratte-ciel qui me surplombaient, les visages de cent nations dans la population de la ville. Toronto s’est révélée un lieu qui m’a émerveillée et étonnée. Cette année, j’ai appris à être audacieuse, humble et courageuse, et la bourse de leadership Canada-CARICOM a rendu tout cela possible. Si j’ai un conseil à donner à quiconque envisage un échange au Canada, c’est de ne pas hésiter.

Radica Tricia Rambharose, de Trinité-et-Tobago - Boursière du Programme de bourses de leadership Canada-CARICOM (2010)

Université d’Athabasca (philosophie, M.A.)

Radica Tricia Rambharose

Mon expérience dans le cadre du Programme de bourses de leadership Canada-CARICOM a vraiment été inoubliable. Bien des facteurs ont contribué à cette expérience remarquable, mais en particulier l’équilibre entre le milieu universitaire de qualité et la vie étudiante interculturelle enrichissante. La collaboration de recherche avec des collègues d’autres pays m’a aidée à porter ma contribution de recherche à un niveau international et a renforcé ma motivation à me prévaloir d’autres occasions semblables dans l’avenir.

Ashanti Garcia, du Belize - Boursière du Programme de bourses de leadership Canada-CARICOM(2009)

Université de Western Ontario (anthropologie, B.A.)

Ashanti Garcia

Il n’y a pas de meilleure façon d’élargir ses horizons universitaires et de se perfectionner que par une expérience d’études à l’étranger. Tout ce que j’ai acquis en venant étudier au Canada, à l’Université de Western Ontario, va s’avérer un atout dans un monde en pleine mondialisation. Ce programme d’échange d’étudiants a changé à tout jamais la façon dont je me perçois et dont je vois le monde dans son ensemble.

Dania Yudith Suarez Abreu, de Cuba - Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2009)

Université du Manitoba (sciences sociales, M.A.)

Dania Yudith Suarez Abreu

Ma bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques m’a permis de mener des recherches dans un environnement à jour et chaleureux, et d’avoir accès à des installations et des technologies modernes. C’était une expérience formidable qui a élargi mon réseau universitaire et professionnel. Les enseignants et les institutions autour de moi m’ont tous soutenue d’une manière incroyable depuis le début. J’ai vécu tous les jours comme les Canadiens; j’ai aimé toutes les saisons, surtout l’hiver : faire du ski, patiner et prendre un café. Cela a enrichi mon parcours et m’a ouvert un nouveau monde de possibilités. Le Canada a été un chez-moi sûr et plaisant pendant cinq mois. J’y ai trouvé des amis, des sports, des coutumes et des connaissances tout nouveaux. Je suis devenue une meilleure personne, une meilleure professionnelle et, grâce à ce programme, j’ai atteint mes objectifs. J’y ai laissé un peu de mon cœur pour toujours.

Juan Carlos Mendez, du Costa Rica - Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2009)

Université Dalhousie (études en développement international, M.A.)

Juan Carlos Mendez

Ce programme de bourses est une excellente occasion pour tout étudiant et universitaire d’Amérique latine qui veut en apprendre davantage sur la culture et les valeurs canadiennes et pour les personnes qui souhaitent vivre dans un environnement universitaire de haut niveau, dans lequel les seules choses qui comptent sont vos compétences et capacités personnelles et professionnelles, et non votre nationalité, vos points de vue politiques ou religieux ou la couleur de votre peau.

Carolina I. Miño, d’Argentine - Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2009)

Université de la Colombie-Britannique, campus Okanagan (génétique, Ph. D.)

Carolina I. Miño

Mon expérience au Canada, par l’intermédiaire de la bourse du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques, m’a permis de visiter une université prestigieuse et de travailler de concert avec des collègues et des chercheurs renommés. Pendant mon séjour à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (campus Okanagan), j’ai toujours été traitée avec amabilité et prise en charge par des gens sympathiques qui m’ont aidée à faire mon chemin dans la vie universitaire.

En savoir plus

Daniel Marcelino, du Brésil - Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2009)

Université York (sciences politiques, M.A.)

Daniel Marcelino

Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques a été une occasion rêvée de visiter le Canada et de faire la connaissance d’étudiants du monde entier. J’ai fréquenté l’une des grandes universités du Canada, et j’y ai trouvé un environnement de coopération interdisciplinaire et ouvert à l’échange d’idées. La qualité de la formation, le soutien à la recherche et à l’accès à un solide réseau de bibliothèques ont rendu mon expérience dans le pays inoubliable. De plus, l’expression culturelle et artistique dynamique que j’ai trouvée au Canada a occupé mes temps libres, reléguant loin, bien loin la nostalgie du Brésil.

Rogelio Pena Gallo, du Mexique - Rogelio Pena Gallo, du Mexique

Université McGill (génie mécanique, M.Sc.)

Rogelio Pena Gallo

Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques a été une expérience fantastique qui m’a permis de participer à la façon canadienne d’enseigner, de travailler et surtout de mener des recherches. C’était un excellent moyen de renforcer mon expérience d’apprentissage. J’ai eu la chance de rencontrer des chercheurs de calibre mondial et de travailler avec eux, une expérience inestimable qui m’a permis d’élargir mon réseau et m’a permis de poursuivre mon éducation, ainsi que la coopération entre mon université d’attache et les universités hôtes.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-11-08